Bon Iver announces self titled album

We brought you the exciting news just a few weeks ago that we were expecting a new LP from Justin Vernon’s Bon Iver project to come out in June.

More details have now become available, the record will be self titled and will be released through Jagjaguwar on June 21st.

After the unexpected and international nature of the success of For Emma, Forever Ago and the beautiful, ethereal tones of the Blood Bank EP the new record has a lot to live up to, and already it looks like a different proposition to its predecessor. The tale of the debut album is well known but it looks like this latest albums recording and creative process involved a lot more collaboration, more complex instrumentation and sounds.

Touring band members Sean Carey, Mike Noyce, and Matt McCaughan were involved in the recording process, as well as Vernon’s Volcano Choir band mates Jim Schoenecker and Tom Wincek. There’s even talk of a horn section made up of Mike Lewis, C.J. Camerieri, and Colin Stetson. Add this to details Vernon gave in a recent interview with Rolling Stone, suggesting that opening track ‘Perth’ is “a Civil War-sounding heavy metal song, it’s sort of chaotic, dense, jarring.”

Recently a mysterious video appeared on Bon Iver’s website , soundtracked by a sparse, atmospheric guitar line which surely must be a teaser of an album track. The video features an image of a painting which accompanied the announcement of the record so it’s safe to presume it’s the cover art. Check the video, artwork as well as the geography of Northern America influenced track list below.

Bon Iver – Bon Iver

01 Perth
02 Minnesota, WI
03 Holocene
04 Towers
05 Michicant
06 Hinnom, TX
07 Wash
08 Calgary
09 Lisbon, OH
10 Beth/Rest

Untitled from Bon Iver on Vimeo.


One Response to “Bon Iver announces self titled album”

  1. […] Iver have just debuted their first track from their upcoming self-titled second album. It aired for the first time on Zane Lowe’s Radio 1 show not long ago, you can check it out […]

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: