Battles – Ice Cream (feat. Matias Aguayo)

‘Ice Cream’ is our first taste from math-rock experimentalists Battles second full length album. Glass Drop is set to drop (see what I did there?!) on June 6th or 7th depending on which side of the pond you’re on, courtesy of Warp Records.

The record is both hotly anticipated given the reaction the bands debut LP, Mirrored received all the way back in 2007, and nervously anticpated after keyboardist/vocalist Tyondai Braxton left at the back end of last year.

‘Ice Cream’ is an summery, stuttering, odd little gem of a track which despite its bizarre and busy fairground feel and jarring, jagged guitar maintains a bit of an enjoyable pop sensibility. It features techno producer Matias Aguayo on vocal duties.

Glass Drop’s full tracklist is below, as is a stream of a radio rip of ‘Ice Cream’ from friend of Hotcakes and radio1 DJ Huw Stephens show.

1. Africastle
2. Ice Cream (feat Matias Aguayo)
3. Futura
4. Inchworm
5. Wall Street
6. My Machines (feat Gary Numan)
7. Dominican Fade
8. Sweetie & Shag (feat Kazu Makino)
9. Toddler
10. Rolls Bayce
11. White Electric
12. Sundome (feat Yamantaka Ey)

Battles – Ice Cream


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: