Vampire Weekend announce second album


Vampire Weekend have finally announced the scheduled date of their sophomore release, entitled ‘Contra’.

The album is set to be unleashed on 12th January 2010, which is still quite a long way away. The band were hyped so much during their debut days it became almost unbearable. The long gap between albums hopefully has been enough for the expentancy to have died down a bit.

Here is the tracklisting:

01. Horchata
02. White Sky
03. Holiday
04. California English
05. Taxi Cab
06. Run
07. Cousins
08. Giving Up The Gun
09. Diplomat’s Son
10. I Think Ur A Contra

Quite a few live versions of these songs have been floating around, but I have resisted the temptation to listen to them, live versions normally paint a poor picture of the recorded versions in my opinion.

I’d gotten a bit bored of them actually. I’m looking forward to hearing some new stuff. Here’s a cheeky single they recorded for the film ‘Nick and Norah’s Infinite Playlist’. It’s actually one of my favourites by them.

Vampire Weekend- Ottoman (BN)
Vampire Weekend – Ottoman (MF)


8 Responses to “Vampire Weekend announce second album”

  1. This Ottoman song sounds like “Armed Forces”-era Elvis Costello

  2. they’re overrated

  3. Agree that Ottoman is one of their best, and they can do anything and have a hit second album at this point, but they would be smart to work more with producer Mark Mothersbaugh of Devo/Wes Andersen movies fame, they’re a great fit.

  4. Chapperdeemus Says:

    But an album coming out in January? They’re such a summery band, I’m not sure I would enjoy listening to Vampire Weekend in the winter.

  5. New link up.

  6. […] Vampire Weekend announce second album […]

  7. […] Rock Record 19 Mount Kimbie – Crooks & Lovers 20 Vampire Weekend – Contra [review] 21 Pantha du Prince – Black Noise 22 Surfer Blood – Astro Coast 23 Male Bonding […]

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: