Boratto is back

The master has returned. Oh yes. Gui Boratto (last.fm/myspace), the Brazilian techno wizard and Kompakt’s surprise darling, has come back with his sophomore release ‘Take My Breath Away’. Back in 2007, I listened to Chromophobia on loop for days at a time and I’m sure I wasn’t alone in this, so I was a bit hesitant as to whether he would come up with the goods the second time around. But don’t worry, he’s made us proud.

I’ve been listen to the album for a couple weeks now and, as before, it gets better with each listen. The titile track rises and falls lightly with the bubbling beats and repetitive synths we’ve come to expect from him, ‘Atomic Soda’ builds with some angry, almost electro-style synth ‘Eggplant’ develops and distorts a simply tune through a variety of themes with a great kick behind it. I’m in love. There’s no ‘Beautiful Life’ equivilent, which is a shame, but this is a fantastic release that’ll stay on the dancefloor for months and months.

Gui Boratto – Take My Breath Away

Leave a Reply

